Philippe Papadimitriou arrived from Belgium to Cevennes Region in Southern France by accident. How he founded his Guesthouse is a story in itself.

L'Etoile Une aventure dans les Cevennes L'Etoile An adventure in the Cevennes 法国洛泽尔,阿尔代什,和塞维纳之间的远足路线

 

L'Etoile An adventure in the Cevennes

Paris Hotel in Cairo EgyptBeing the boss of a Guest-house, Bed and Breakfast or a Farmstay is the realization of an ideal for one and a necessary source of income for another. Here is a lover of adventure, Philippe Papadimitriou, who managed to join these two objectives in a small village north of the Cevennes.

"A young man of high stature whose grandfather was at the time the owner of the Hotel de Paris to Cairo in Egypt," was the description given by Nicholas Crane in 'Clear waters rising' after a long walk during a year and a half from Cape Finisterre in Portugal to Istanbul in Turkey with a stopover at L'Etoile.

Piano improvisation in the livingroomHe enjoys a meal with wild mushrooms when Philippe is playing piano near the open fire. During his stay, he wrote the story how Philippe bought and transformed this former resort hotel. "It was, he said, an intuition, not a scientific experiment."

Nicholas Crane was clearly fascinated by the Belgian-Greek Philippe Papadimitriou. No wonder this because the history of the life of this former gold prospector to the many small jobs is full of twists. How he landed in the Cevennes is a story in itself.

While living in Brussels, the opportunity presented itself to him during his 29th anniversary of working in a small village in the Gard in southern Cevennes. "And that was good because I wanted to work abroad, I was ready."

At the end of his contract, Philippe wanted to walk from the south of France to Brussels. But he stopped after thirty kilometers in the small village of Bordezac in the Gard. "I met Olivier, the young owner of "Mas du Lauzas" farmstay, which wanted to halt its activities. Enthousiastic with new perspectives, I wanted to share the rebuild of the business with the owner. But without success." Philippe stayed six months longer than expected, and then decided, thanks to Olivier who lent him his two horses and his dog, crossing the country on horseback with his girl-friend. The team has follow the old Roman road "The Regordane" (GR700) who goes across the Cevennes through La Bastide-Puylaurent. They stayed there for two summer months in 1989 and then following the GR7 trail to the Vosges (North-East France). One month and a half adventure who stimulated Philippe to change life. Nature, contact, dynamism, adventure and quality of life was the engine of our friend.

Atmosphere of "like at home" at L'EtoileDuring his travels, the idea of open a guest-house was more and more alive in his mind. He went around Pyrenees and Cevennes looking for a nice place to open his new business. But he allways returning to La Bastide-Puylaurent where the old "Hotel du Parc" or "Ranc Hotel" was for sale. In a short time, he acquired the proprety and he has spend five years to restore the building.

Innkeepers Exchange with Horse Creek Ranch, Alberta, CanadaFor the owner, this is an ideal well done. From May to September, he does the cooking, housekeeping, baked bread, serves Belgian beers and managed to create an atmosphere of "like at home".

"When I open, I feel like on board a sailboat that will cross an ocean," he said. "It is not a work anymore but an experience !" adds happens.Philippe stay available to the proper management of its large "boat", 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

When the gite closes, he travels to meet other gite-owners such as Strawberry Mountain Inn B&B, Prairie City, Oregon, USA; Mowbray Park Farmstay, Picton, New South Wales, Australia; Horse Creek Ranch, Fort Assiniboine, Alberta, Canada; Mr. Benlhou, Hotel Zagour, Zagora, Morocco.

More information about International Innkeepers Exchange.

He also works hard on its web site to promote its concept and share its motivation for another way to live together, work and develop this adventure that follows as a gold-prospector. "I am perhaps a businessman but not a commercial; money will come if the idea is good and rich" ...The small entrepreneur keeps busy and loves providing an enjoyable and convivial experience for his guests.

There are still many ideas in his head. "Mais il me reste encore plein d'idees."

***

 

L'Etoile Guest-House between Cevennes, Ardeche and Lozere in the South of France

Old romantic Hotel, L'Etoile Guest-House is a mountain retreat in the South of France. With a beautiful park along the Allier River, L'Etoile Guesthouse is located in La Bastide-Puylaurent between Lozere, Ardeche and Cevennes. Many hiking trails like GR7, GR70 Stevenson trail, GR72, GR700 Regordane way, Cevenol, GR470 Allier river, Margeride, Gevaudan. Many hiking loops around L'Etoile Guesthouse. The right place to relax.

Copyright © etoile.fr All rights reserved

Etre patron d'une Maison d'hôtes tient de la réalisation d'un idéal pour l'un, et d'une nécessaire source de revenus pour l'autre. Voici le récit d'un amateur d'aventure, Philippe Papadimitriou, qui a réussi joindre ces deux objectifs dans un petit village du Nord des Cévennes.

L'Etoile Une aventure dans les Cévennes L'Etoile An adventure in the Cevennes L'Etoile Ein Abenteuer in den Cevennen L'Etoile Een avontuur in de Cevennen L'Etoile Przygoda w Cevennes L'Etoile Una aventura en las Cévennes 法国洛泽尔,阿尔代什,和塞维纳之间的远足路线

 

L'Etoile Une aventure dans les Cévennes

Hôtel de Paris au Caire en Egypte"Un jeune homme à la haute stature dont le grand-père fut à l'époque le patron de l'Hôtel de Paris au Caire en Egypte", telle était la description qu'en donnait Nicholas Crane dans 'Clear waters rising' après avoir parcouru à pied pendant un an et demi le trajet qui va du Cap Finistère (Portugal) à Istanbul (Turquie) en passant par la Maison d'hôtes.

Improvisation au piano dans le salonDe son séjour à L'Etoile, il consacre une bonne partie de son récit et raconte comment Philippe a racheté et transformé cet ancien hôtel de villégiature. "C'était, dit-il, une intuition, pas une expérience scientifique."

Nicholas Crane était manifestement fasciné par le belgo-grecque Philippe Papadimitriou. Rien d'étonnant à cela, car l'histoire de la vie de cet ancien chercheur d'or aux nombreux petits boulots est pleine de rebondissements. Comment il a atterri dans les Cévennes est toute une histoire.

Alors qu'il vivait à Bruxelles, l'occasion s'offrit à lui lors de son 29ème anniversaire d'aller travailler dans un petit village du Gard à la rénovation d'un mas acheté par une belge. "Et cela tombait bien car je voulais travailler à l'étranger, j'y étais prêt".

Au terme de son chantier, Philippe voulut repartir à pied du Sud de la France vers Bruxelles. Il se mit en route mais s'arrêta après trente kilomètres dans le petit village de Bordezac dans le Gard. "Je rencontrai Olivier, le jeune patron d'une ferme-auberge "Le Mas du Lauzas", qui voulait mettre fin à ses activités. Emballé par de nouvelles perspectives, je voulais reprendre l'établissement avec le propriétaire. Mais sans succès." Philippe resta six mois plus longtemps que prévu, et décida alors, grâce à son nouvel ami qui lui prêta ses deux chevaux et son chien, de traverser le pays accompagné d'une amie. L'équipe longea l'ancienne voie romaine "La Régordane" (GR700) qui remonte les Cévennes via La Bastide-Puylaurent, et y séjourna pendant les deux mois d'été en 1989 pour ensuite se rendre dans les Vosges en suivant le GR7. Un mois et demi d'aventure qui stimula Philippe à changer de vie. Nature, contact, dynamisme, aventure et qualité de vie; tel était le moteur de notre ami.

Atmosphère de "comme à la maison" à L'EtoilePendant ses voyages, l'idée d'ouvrir une maison d'hôte occupait de plus en plus l'esprit de Philippe. Il se mit encore à parcourir les Pyrénées et les Cévennes avant de retrouver La Bastide-Puylaurent où l'ancien "Hôtel du Parc" ou "Hôtel Ranc" était en vente. En deux temps et trois mouvements, il en fit l'acquisition et se spécialisa dans l'accueil des randonneurs en tant que Gîte d'étape et de séjour, qui par la suite deviendra Maison d'hôtes.

Echange entre aubergistes avec Horse Creek Ranch, Alberta, CanadaPour le patron, il s'agit d'un idéal bel et bien réalisé. Du 1 mai au 15 septembre, il fait la cuisine, le ménage, cuit son pain, sert des bières belges et parvient à créer une atmosphère de "commeà la maison".

"Quand j'ouvre, je me sens comme embarqué sur un voilier qui va traverser un océan" dit-il. "Ce n'est plus du travail mais une belle aventure !" rajoute-t'il. Philippe se rend disponible à la bonne gestion de son grand "bateau", 24 heures par jour et 7 jours par semaine.

Pendant la période de fermeture de L'Etoile, Philippe part à son tour en voyage à la rencontre d'autres patrons de Gîte, Chambres d'hôtes, Bed and Breakfast, Guest-Ranch, Country Inn ou Farmstay comme Strawberry Mountain Inn B&B, Prairie City, Oregon, USA; Mowbray Park Farmstay, Picton, New South Wales, Australie; Horse Creek Ranch, Fort Assiniboine, Alberta, Canada; Mr. Benlhou, Hotel Zagour, Zagora, Maroc.

Pour plus d'informations: Echanges Internationaux entre Aubergistes.

Il travaille aussi d'arrache-pied sur ses sites-web pour promouvoir son concept et faire partager sa motivation pour une autre manière de vivre ensemble, de travailler et de développer cette aventure qu'il suit comme un chercheur d'or. "Je suis peut-être un business-man mais pas un commerçant; l'argent viendra si l'idée est bonne et riche, il faut que cela sonne juste"...

 

 

L'Etoile Maison d'hôtes

Ancien hôtel de villégiature avec un magnifique parc au bord de l'Allier, L'Etoile Maison d'hôtes se situe à La Bastide-Puylaurent entre la Lozère, l'Ardèche et les Cévennes dans les montagnes du Sud de la France. Au croisement des GR7, GR70 Chemin Stevenson, GR72, GR700 Voie Régordane (St Gilles), Cévenol, GR470 Sentier des Gorges de l'Allier, Montagne Ardéchoise, Margeride, Gévaudan et des randonnées en étoile à la journée. Idéal pour un séjour de détente.

Copyright © etoile.fr Tous droits réservés